Posted by: chefroyrdee | August 24, 2010

You’re the cheese to my macaroni!

Who didn’t love that stupid boxed macaroni and cheese as a kid? I know I did, but it got progressively worse as I got older… Even more than the boxed macaroni, I loved when my mom made home-made macaroni and cheese. After trying lots of recipes and tweaking them, I’ve come up with a couple that I really like. Tonight I made one of them.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb elbow macaroni, elbow macaroni twists, or whatever kind of pasta you like with your cheese
  • 2 cups shredded gruyere cheese (or you can substitute swiss for a cheaper version)
  • 1 cup shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese
  • 3 Tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • salt and pepper
  • plain or Italian style breadcrumbs (enough to sprinkle on top)
  • 1.5 cups broccoli florets (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 F
  • Boil a large pot of salted water for the macaroni noodles (you can add a little olive oil too to prevent stickiness)
  • Cook pasta according to package directions (maybe take out a minute or two early while the pasta is still firm – it will finish cooking in the oven)
  • Meanwhile, add the 2 cups of milk into a small saucepan and heat on medium-low (don’t boil!!!)
  • In another large saucepan, melt the 3 tablespoons of butter
  • Once the butter melts, add the 1/4 c flour and whisk
  • Continue to whisk and slowly add the warm milk
  • When all the milk is added, heat for a couple more minutes until the mixture is thickened and smooth
  • Remove from heat and add the cheese, stirring to melt it
  • Add a pinch of nutmeg, then add salt and pepper to taste, stirring into the cheese mixture
  • Add the broccoli florets and the pasta to the cheese mixture and stir well to coat the pasta
  • Pour the mixture into a baking dish, sprinkle bread crumbs on top, and bake for about 20-25 minutes, until hot and bubbly

Since both gruyere and sharp cheddar go well with Sauvignon Blanc, I paired that with my mac and cheese. Delicious. Happy eating!


Responses

  1. The mac and cheese sounds delish. I Can’t wait to try it (although I’ll probably leave the broccoli out.)


Leave a comment

Categories